The BVI Airports Authority “the Authority” is a Statutory Body of the Government of the Virgin Islands. Borne out of the need to have the regulatory and operational aspects of aviation in the Territory performed by separate entities, it was on 15th August 2005 incorporated. As a limited liability company, its responsibilities include the effective and efficient operations of all airports in the Territory. The Authority was created by the Airports Act 2003 which was, passed in December 2003 and, assented to on the 2nd March 2004. Prior to 2005, the Department of Civil Aviation in the Ministry of Communication and Works performed both the regulatory and the operational functions at the Territory's Airports.

The Authority currently manages and operates, on behalf of the Government of the Virgin Islands, three (3) airports and various helipads within the Territory. The three (3) airports are the Terrance B. Lettsome International Airport, Beef Island, the Taddy Bay Airport, Virgin Gorda and the Auguste George Airport, Anegada.

The objectives of the Authority include inter alia:

The Authority is governed by a Board of Directors headed by a Chairman. Its sole shareholder is the Government of the Virgin Islands and the share/s are held by, and in the name of, the Financial Secretary. Its vision and mission statement respectively are reflected in its goals of meeting or exceeding the safety and other requirements of the Air Navigation (Overseas Territories) Order 2001 and other applicable regulatory instruments; and creating an environment that fosters employee excellence.